Skip to main content

Johns Hopkins

Johns Hopkins Pediatric

Wilmer Faculty Receive AAO Awards

Awards Winners

A quartet of faculty members from Wilmer Eye Institute, Johns Hopkins Medicine have been honored with awards in conjunction with the 2023 American Academy of Ophthalmology annual conference.

Fasika Woreta, M.D,, M.P. H. the Eugene de Juan, M.D. Professor of Ophthalmology, is the recipient of the Straatsma Award for 2023. The Straatsma Award for excellence in resident education is given to a program director dedicated to the principles and significance of residency education. Woreta was appointed associate residency program director at Wilmer in 2014 and residency program director in 2019.

Sharon Solomon, M.D., the Katharine M. Graham Professor of Ophthalmology, is a recipient of an AAO 2023 Secretariat Award for her work on the Task Force and Sub-Task Force on Disparities in Eye Care, work that was recognized by a National Institutes of Health director as "the BEST monograph on disparities in any field I have ever read...truly a brilliant piece."

Divya Srikumaran, M.D. has been honored with an AAO 2023 Secretariat Award for her efforts as a reviewer for the Academy's journal, Ophthalmology. She was recognized by Russell N. Van Gelder M.D., Ph.D., the journal’s editor in chief.

Megan Collins, M.D., M.P.H., the Allan and Claire Jensen Professor of Ophthalmology, is a recipient of an AAO 2023 Honor Achievement Award for her contributions to the Academy, its scientific and education programs and to ophthalmology.

© The Johns Hopkins University, The Johns Hopkins Hospital, and Johns Hopkins Health System. All rights reserved.