Skip to main content

Johns Hopkins

Johns Hopkins Pediatric

Milestones: Faculty News and Honors

March 15, 2018

George Bigelow

George Bigelow, Ph.D., in whose honor a new endowed professorship has been named, has led the Behavioral Pharmacology Research Unit since its inception four decades ago and has guided it to its current position of prominence. He was recently honored with the 2018 Dean’s Distinguished Mentoring Award.

Angela Guarda, M.D.

Angela Guarda, M.D., the Stephen and Jean Robinson Associate Professor of Eating Disorders, has been inducted into Hopkins’ Miller Coulson Academy of Clinical Excellence.

Timothy Moran, Ph.D.

Timothy Moran, Ph.D., the Paul R. McHugh Professor of Motivated Behaviors, has been named executive vice chair of the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences.

Eric C. Strain, M.D.

Eric C. Strain, M.D., will become the next scientific director of the Behavioral Pharmacology Research Unit and will be installed as the inaugural recipient of the George E. Bigelow, Ph.D. Professorship later this year.

Elise Weerts, Ph.D.

Elise Weerts, Ph.D. has become president-elect of the College on Problems of Drug Dependence, the oldest and largest organization in America devoted to advancing a scientific approach to substance use and addictive disorders.

© The Johns Hopkins University, The Johns Hopkins Hospital, and Johns Hopkins Health System. All rights reserved.